Sidebar menu rounded corners bottom graphic

Fire and Rescue Commission


Effective May 5th, 2017, all Fire and Rescue students are required to sign in with an NCID to access Student Fire & Rescue Commission/Training Transcripts and Certifications, and to Register for Qualification Regional Registration. Please go to OSFM 24 for directions and links to log in to this system.


Commission Members

The North Carolina Fire Commission was transferred to the North Carolina Department of Insurance in October, 1985. At that time, the Commissioner of Insurance vowed support of this agency and has since that time supported it with personnel, budget, etc. In July, 1989, the Legislature passed a Bill which changed the makeup of the Commission. The Fire Commission became the Fire and Rescue Commission, with duplicate responsibilities in the area of rescue as was previously held for fire. The Department of Insurance serves as staff to the Commission, with the Commission currently having a permanent staff of seven.

The areas of responsibility for the Commission lie in numerous areas. The General Statutes that control the operation, selection, and duties of the Commission are found in G.S. 58-78-1;. 58-78-5; 58-78-10; 58-78-15; 58-78-20.

The Commission also operates under the duties described in the Administrative Procedures act which seek to clarify additional duties.

Questions regarding Commission programs can be answered by calling 800-634-7854

Information forwarded to the Commission can be sent to the following address:

NC Fire and Rescue Commission
1202 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1202

C. Harley Cook NC Society of Fire Rescue Instructors
Ken Briscoe NC Association of Fire Chiefs
Gary Whitman NC Association of Rescue and EMS, Inc.
Robert Poe NC Association of Rescue and EMS, Inc.
Phil Welch NC Firemen's Association
Freddy Johnson, Sr. NC Firemen's Association
Ken Briscoe NC Association of Fire Chiefs
Bill Rogers NC Fire Marshal's Association
Vacant (awaiting appointment) NC Association of County Commissioners
Walter M. Gardner, Jr. NC League of Municipalities
Cloyce Anders Public-at-Large
Kevin Gordon Speaker of the House Appointee
Ronnie Griffin President of the Senate Appointee
David Wray Governor's Appointee
Ed Duffield Professional Firefighters and Paramedics of NC
Matt Davis County Fire Marshal's Association